Foundational Relationships…………..Amanda Burke

It is exciting starting out in a new ministry context.  Especially since I am in a totally new place. I’ve been in my new position as Director of Youth and Family Ministry for two weeks.  And a move from Texas to Wisconsin. It is all a little disorienting.  But I am hoping to use that disorientation to help me see.

So like most people I want to get off on the right foot.  There are so many questions running through my head.  What is God doing in this place?  What are the ministry needs here? Where do I start? However, the beauty of it all is that I cannot answer these questions without getting to know people first.  So that’s where I start: to develop genuine caring relationships with the people of this congregation and community.

But I now know that the places to develop relationships are but not just with the youth.  And I am no longer afraid of their parents. I had a lovely lunch with the quilting ladies last week.    I have been to the high schools and met with the principals, and am meeting with the school superintendent. I know I need to get to know the students but also their world.  You can do it too!

Even if people are in a ministry context for a very long time it does not automatically ensure that genuine caring relationships have been formed. And it is so easy to get immersed in programs, that you forget to keep relationships in the forefront.  I have a unique opportunity to start by building them.

Amanda Burke has been doing youth ministry for 10½ years at one church and two weeks at her new site.

  1. Congratulations on the new position! I’m feeling you on how to meet the needs of your new church properly. My husband and I have just taken on the positions of Childrens Church Director (me!) and Youth Pastor (my husband) Its a small church but we pray that God will lead the children we have to Him and to show us the way to do that most effectively!

    Many prayers sent up for you:)
    God Bless,
    Michelle

    • Jerry Watts
    • March 30th, 2010

    sounds like you are starting right on target Amanda! Thanks for reminding us all of first priorities no matter how long we’ve been in our context. Networking with the diverse fabric of those who are in the lives of the youth you minister to is huge. It also sets the stage to invite those same folks who follow Jesus to walk alongside youth and reveal the Scriptures not unlike Jesus did on the road to Emmaus or Philip with the Ethopian walking with them for part of their journey or maybe for the long hall.

Leave a Reply

